Silence and Speed Writing

These past few weeks have been pure chaos. I work at a university, and it’s year end, therefore the last few weeks have been gearing up to getting our graduating students out the door into the real world (and making a great production of it for posterity’s sake). The next few weeks will be devoted to tying up all the loose ends of the school year and finishing up the budget, and getting ready for next year.

Summer, for me, means upgrades and plenty of systems work.

But this summer, it also means taking part in Camp NaNoWriMo for the first time. I’m sure you all know what NaNoWriMo means: write 50,000 words in the space of the 30 days of November. I’ve been a big fan of the event ever since I used it to help jump start my creativity after a few very dismal writing years.

I’ll admit, I’m not an advocate of the “no plot, no problem” attitude, at least not for myself. For me, it’s a chance to push myself, to get words out of my head and onto the screen, and more importantly, to enjoy the vibe of other folks writing at the same time. It’s a reminder to write every day, and by giving me a goal, I tend to push myself harder towards achieving that goal.

I’m just starting work on a new YA novel, which I expect to be somewhere between 85k and 100k when complete, and my intention is to have the first rough done by the end of August. Three months. Yes, I have side projects going on, but at the same time, I’m hoping for two very solidly productive months in June and August.

Whether I “win” by achieving 50k or not is irrelevant. All I want to do is have that excitement and to remember to write.

This may also help me break silence a bit, because I’m quite certain I’ll have something to talk about along the way, even if it’s just wordcount information! Because I’m sure y’all are desperate to know how I’m writing. Not to mention that my daughter plans to alpha read this one, and I can’t wait to hear her insight into the book as I work (and I’m sure there will be amusing tidbits to share).

This is the book I am writing for my kids. If I ever publish it, that’s a bonus. But my big goal is to create something that my children will enjoy and that will entertain them. Everything else is gravy.

About D. E. Atwood

When D.E. Atwood was in second grade, she finally grew tall enough to see the shelf above the mysteries in the bookmobile. She discovered a rich landscape of alternate worlds, magic, and space and has never looked back from the genres of fantasy and science fiction. When she was twelve, she declared that she was going to be a writer, and share the stories that she saw happening all around her. She wanted to create characters that others would care about, and that would touch their lives, like the books that she read had touched her own life. Today she has combined her interests, creating genre stories about the people who live next door, bringing magic into the world around us. When not writing, D.E. Atwood is a mother (to two children and a cat), a wife, a reader, a knitter, a systems administrator, a roleplayer, and a music aficionado. Sleep, she claims, is optional.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Silence and Speed Writing

  1. Pingback: Going to Camp (Again!) « D.E. Atwood

Talk to me!

