Timeless! And an interview!

Cover for Timeless from Pugalicious PressThe thing about life is that it is a constant series of ups and downs. You think it might be like the Boston Marathon, where once you’ve climbed Heartbreak Hill you get a lovely downhill slide, but it’s not. The hills can be steep, and the valleys can be low, and you get to periodically cavort among the clouds before you fall over again. And the downhills aren’t always something to look forward to.

Yes, I do have a point here. I promise.

Life, lately, has been chaotic. I’ve spent a lot of time writing, but not on projects that I can sell. There’s another post coming on that concept later (particularly as round 2 of CampNaNo is about to begin in two days). I’ve spent a lot of time running my kids around to their activities, not to mention running myself around to my own activities. I’ve been struggling to keep up with a (somewhat vaguely) clean house, eating properly, a hectic social life, not to mention the day job (which has had some big troubleshooting snags in the past month). Yes, I have a day job… I wish I didn’t have to have one, but medical insurance and money for my kids to go to college is a required element in life. But as I’m slogging up that mountain of frustration, I keep getting little bits and blurbs of hope and happiness.

Like the release of Timeless from Pugalicious Press!!

This has me dancing excitedly. It’s my first YA publication, which means I am Finally Really Doing It. Next stop: find an agent, right?

Timeless is an ebook anthology of short stories of YA romance that take place throughout history. My own piece is slightly steampunk set into the Victorian era, and tells the story of how Roland meets Will. I don’t want to spoil the story, so I won’t say much more other than it includes clockwork technology AND magic (because I love cross-wiring my genres).

Today I was interviewed by Kip Wilson Rechea, another author in the anthology. Please stop over to read the interview on her blog and take a chance on winning a copy of the anthology! Also, next week I will be interviewing J.R. Sparlin here on this blog, and I will be giving away a copy of the book as well.

I’m sure, by now, you see my point: don’t give up. The slog up the hill is worth it, because the view is amazing when you get there.

About D. E. Atwood

When D.E. Atwood was in second grade, she finally grew tall enough to see the shelf above the mysteries in the bookmobile. She discovered a rich landscape of alternate worlds, magic, and space and has never looked back from the genres of fantasy and science fiction. When she was twelve, she declared that she was going to be a writer, and share the stories that she saw happening all around her. She wanted to create characters that others would care about, and that would touch their lives, like the books that she read had touched her own life. Today she has combined her interests, creating genre stories about the people who live next door, bringing magic into the world around us. When not writing, D.E. Atwood is a mother (to two children and a cat), a wife, a reader, a knitter, a systems administrator, a roleplayer, and a music aficionado. Sleep, she claims, is optional.
This entry was posted in Publishing Announcements, Real Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Timeless! And an interview!

  1. hannahkarena says:

    I was looking around for this anthology and the press today…did the press go out of business/the anthology get pulled? :/

    • D. E. Atwood says:

      Unfortunately, the press went under, so the rights to the story were returned to me (which is good) but I have no idea if there are any ways to get the anthology still out there somewhere (sad!).

  2. hannahkarena says:

    Awesome! Hurray for the publication!

Talk to me!

