Going to Camp (Again!)

You might remember that I participated in CampNaNo in June. You may have also noticed that radio silence turned into complete crickets and I never posted about how I did.

I failed.

See, I can say it bluntly! I wrote very little on professional work, most of which was my attempt to find the structure for the novel I want to write. I wrote about 27k words on side projects, and even that was a fairly low number. What I had hoped to do was work on Balls (it’s about basketball and zombies and girl power) during June, July, and August, along with the various side projects, and at the end of it I would have a completed novel draft.

Obviously this didn’t work out as planned.

I’m going into the August CampNaNo with the same plan in mind. I’m in the middle of a short story associated with Balls (if I finish it, I will excerpt a teensy piece here, if y’all are curious). I need to finish that, along with two other short stories (written under another name). I also have a small handful of side things I want to finish. Lots to do, not so sure about lots of time.

But really, in the end, the goal is to write every day. And here, my goal is to stay accountable. So no matter what I’m working on, I will try to post more updates about the process of what I’m doing.

Oh and for the record, in July I wrote almost 44k words. Obviously CampNaNo occurred in the wrong month…

About D. E. Atwood

When D.E. Atwood was in second grade, she finally grew tall enough to see the shelf above the mysteries in the bookmobile. She discovered a rich landscape of alternate worlds, magic, and space and has never looked back from the genres of fantasy and science fiction. When she was twelve, she declared that she was going to be a writer, and share the stories that she saw happening all around her. She wanted to create characters that others would care about, and that would touch their lives, like the books that she read had touched her own life. Today she has combined her interests, creating genre stories about the people who live next door, bringing magic into the world around us. When not writing, D.E. Atwood is a mother (to two children and a cat), a wife, a reader, a knitter, a systems administrator, a roleplayer, and a music aficionado. Sleep, she claims, is optional.
This entry was posted in Writing is Work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Going to Camp (Again!)

  1. Chris Jones says:

    But didn’t you watch a lot of basketball in June? I bet your back brain was working on the story even it no words got on paper

    • D. E. Atwood says:

      I did! May and June were almost entirely about watching basketball; I think we had tournaments 7 out of 9 weekends? I think the basketball and teen girl aspects of the story are the easiest for me at this moment. I actually have one basketball scene written which I might have to strike because I’m not sure how it fits into the plot flow (I hope to keep it) which I might excerpt here as the month goes along.

      The part I’m still struggling with is the overarching construction. Not the plot so much, as the framework I’m going to use to tell the story. I’ve tried a few and each one hasn’t felt right, which means I’m still missing something important. I’m hoping to find it as the months goes along. *fingers crossed*

Talk to me!

