CampNaNo, Day 2

Whoops! I forgot to post a status report last night. It was right there, on my to-do list, and I even looked at it and thought “Well, maybe I’ll get to write a few hundred more words so I’ll do it later.” When later came, off I went to bed without even a thought to the update, so here I am this morning, all belated and apologetic.

It was all side project work last night. Said side project is due in 9 days, and I have to have time to get it critiqued and edited, so my goal is to finish it tonight. I’m within about 2k (possibly more like only 1k) words of finishing, so I’m on track for that, which is excellent. However, at 1782 words written yesterday, I’m only slightly less behind than I was after the first day. I obviously need to spend some really intense time writing this weekend in order to get ahead. I’ve got some social things going on this weekend (time for knitting… wait, aren’t all social events knitting meetings?) but with luck, I’ll be able to make words before and after. That’s what locking myself in my office is for, right?

By the end of the weekend, I would like to sit fairly comfortably at 10k words for the month so far (I can write almost 8k in three days, sure!). I want to finish this piece and send it off to be critiqued, and finish the short story that I’m working on that is a prequel to Balls. I have to admit, I’m really loving Del’s voice, but I’m still having a tough time with Cam, which means she gets a short story after this, I think. Maybe I’ll do a piece from the perspective of all of the non-voice main characters from Balls so I can be sure I have them settled in my head, so their actions and dialogue are properly differentiated from Tori.

I’ve never built a book quite this way. It’s intriguing, and different, and I’m finally enjoying the process again.

2626 / 50000 words. 5% done!

I have to admit, 5% done sounds so much better than CampNaNo’s cheery note that at my current pace, I will not finish my 50,000 words until 26 days after camp ends…

About D. E. Atwood

When D.E. Atwood was in second grade, she finally grew tall enough to see the shelf above the mysteries in the bookmobile. She discovered a rich landscape of alternate worlds, magic, and space and has never looked back from the genres of fantasy and science fiction. When she was twelve, she declared that she was going to be a writer, and share the stories that she saw happening all around her. She wanted to create characters that others would care about, and that would touch their lives, like the books that she read had touched her own life. Today she has combined her interests, creating genre stories about the people who live next door, bringing magic into the world around us. When not writing, D.E. Atwood is a mother (to two children and a cat), a wife, a reader, a knitter, a systems administrator, a roleplayer, and a music aficionado. Sleep, she claims, is optional.
This entry was posted in CampNaNo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Talk to me!

