so, maybe this isn’t going quite as planned…

The holidays seem to have a way of messing with my schedule. It feels like we’ve got ten times more things going on right now than usual, and not all of them are holiday related.

For example, last night my son received his second dan black belt for tae kwon do (I am one proud mama!). My husband is an advanced brown belt, and I received my advanced recommended black belt (next step is the actual black belt in May, I hope!). My husband, daughter and I also all received our orange belts in combat hapkido. It was a big night! But… I didn’t write. And Tuesday was training, so… I didn’t write.

You’re starting to see a pattern here, right?

I promised accountability, though, so here I am. I’m not making excuses; I know exactly what’s going on in my head. I’m still trying to figure out how to work with the current schedule. One of the biggest things I’ve learned is that I can’t write after TKD. I get home from class and my brain melts into jello and oozes out my ears while I watch a TV show to wind down before passing out for the night.

I can’t get up any earlier in the morning. I’m a night person naturally, and 5:30am is kind of killing me. I mean… OW.

I need to squeeze words in between work and TKD, which I think will work better when I’m not overclocked with holiday things that have to get crammed in. I hope.

I’m carrying my folder with the novel everywhere right now. If I have five minutes, I read another few paragraphs, I make a few more notes. If I can get enough read to get the loose outline for the first part of the book, I can start the rewrite, and I am incredibly excited to do that. In the meantime, though, I just try to move forward a little each day, even if it’s admitting that today, I didn’t move at all.

The important thing is, don’t be defeated before I begin. I can do that.

About D. E. Atwood

When D.E. Atwood was in second grade, she finally grew tall enough to see the shelf above the mysteries in the bookmobile. She discovered a rich landscape of alternate worlds, magic, and space and has never looked back from the genres of fantasy and science fiction. When she was twelve, she declared that she was going to be a writer, and share the stories that she saw happening all around her. She wanted to create characters that others would care about, and that would touch their lives, like the books that she read had touched her own life. Today she has combined her interests, creating genre stories about the people who live next door, bringing magic into the world around us. When not writing, D.E. Atwood is a mother (to two children and a cat), a wife, a reader, a knitter, a systems administrator, a roleplayer, and a music aficionado. Sleep, she claims, is optional.
This entry was posted in Writing is Work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to so, maybe this isn’t going quite as planned…

  1. T. D. Davis says:

    I know *exactly* what you’re going through! I’ve been blogging for a week, primarily about my life in kung fu (and formerly TKD), and I’ve written every night after KF, finishing somewhere around midnight, after I stretch from training, shower and eat. Then after I’ve written, I’m wound up and staring at the ceiling when I should be asleep. I have to figure out how to fit it all in. Good luck to you.

Talk to me!

