Editing!

Have I mentioned before that writing is work? Well, in case you’ve forgotten WRITING IS WORK!

On the other hand, it is also incredibly exciting to be doing what I’m doing in preparation for my book to be released. It’s like… I sit here panicking about edits, while at the same time I’m bouncing in my seat because I am getting ready for this book to be in the hands of real people who will hopefully fall in love with Jordan the same way I have.

I have two things going on this weekend for If We Shadows. Primarily I have edits, and secondarily, I have signing.

I have edited 76 pages out of 222 so far, and the whole thing needs to be done by Sunday night if I can manage so I can turn it in first thing on Monday. Some pages are easy to edit (I feel blessed and lucky to be able to dip my toes in the kiddie pool rather than leaping into the deep end of an editing nightmare) but some have me sitting there and going over the same paragraph for a half hour as I work and rework the words until they reflect what needs to be there.

I will be tracking my editing progress on my tumblr, if you’d like to follow along there!

Then there’s the signing… which is incredibly exciting. I received vellum pages in the mail two days ago, and I will be signing these for insertion into the first twenty paperbacks ordered directly from the publisher. So if you want to order a hardcopy (yes, I’ll have links as soon as they are available!) and you get one of the first twenty, you’ll get a signed copy! The vellum pages look so pretty in the books (I have two others from Harmony Ink that are signed). And yes, I’ve been practicing, because I want to make it look nice. I have blue, green, and purple fine point Sharpie pens which I will be using for the signings, and yes, the colors are important to the novel. 🙂

Okay, it’s time for me to launch into the work for the weekend. My goals are to edit 10-15 pages, then do chores around the house and other things that need to be done. Come visit me on tumblr to going me in getting things done!

About D. E. Atwood

When D.E. Atwood was in second grade, she finally grew tall enough to see the shelf above the mysteries in the bookmobile. She discovered a rich landscape of alternate worlds, magic, and space and has never looked back from the genres of fantasy and science fiction. When she was twelve, she declared that she was going to be a writer, and share the stories that she saw happening all around her. She wanted to create characters that others would care about, and that would touch their lives, like the books that she read had touched her own life. Today she has combined her interests, creating genre stories about the people who live next door, bringing magic into the world around us. When not writing, D.E. Atwood is a mother (to two children and a cat), a wife, a reader, a knitter, a systems administrator, a roleplayer, and a music aficionado. Sleep, she claims, is optional.
This entry was posted in Writing is Work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Editing!

  1. allreb says:

    It’s really a fascinating window into what goes on with Real Author Things to see your progress on tumblr, thank you for sharing it!

    • D. E. Atwood says:

      Oh, cool, I’m glad you’re enjoying it! I’m trying to get (slowly) better about posting things on tumblr and doing more there. I mean, I’m a fan as well as starting out to be a pro, and it’s nice to have a place to babble. *grins*

      I even finished my signing this morning! I feel so productive, and of course, I still have a zillion more things to do.

Talk to me!

